I did another 5k before the "BIG" one in October. It was in Stockton, UT and I was not prepared for it even in the slightest. I have been having an awful time getting to the gym with "my buddy" and since the last time I posted I had taken a surprisingly embarrassing fall in my son's school parking lot. It left me with a still pained back and hip. My right knee hyper-extended, so the pound of running just kills and the night before the run......wait for it........I jammed a toothpick a half inch into the bendy part of my big toe!
So as you can see "I was fit for running." my little cheer section told me that I couldn't back out of this now and even if I crawled the whole thing, that I needed to finish it.
"Finish it." No more getting "almost there." It may take me years to meet the me I want to meet, but I will. But as I am in the pursuit to "finish it." I will take this time to really appreciate the me now. Every single lump and bump. :-)
I am still going for the run in October and I will sign up for more as time allows, but I will always finish. I will always get there....even if I am near the end.
By the way. I bested my time by 2 minutes and 30 seconds from the Turkey Trot I did in November last year. So there's an accomplishment to add to finishing....which means I am going in the right direction.
Monday, August 30, 2010
Monday, August 23, 2010
Remember who you are. Do good things. Make good choices.
Mama: Aiden, what are you doing up!?
Aiden: It's time to get ready for school, I heard your alarm!
Mama: Baby, that alarm is for me to get up and workout. It's 5:00 in the morning.
Aiden: I can't sleep anyway, I'm gonna go take a shower.
Needless to say I never made it to the gym. I spent the morning getting him ready for his first day at school.
~
Can you see how excited he was? :-)
~
I am not the kind of mama that gets all mushy when my kiddos go to school. I am almost as excited about it as they are.
~
Aiden has been looking forward to this day since I can remember.
~
Going with him into his room I saw so many mama's and papa's giddy with excitement of this new adventure for their little one and I too could hardly contain my pleasure for Aiden.
~
~
Alex was just....another day.
~
So no pictures for him!!!
~
Aiden made a new friend right away with the little girl that sits next to him and she was more than happy to pose for a couple of shots with him.
~
I was trying to think of any wise words to give to him....
HAVE FUN, BABY!!
~
REMEMBER WHO YOU ARE.
DO GOOD THINGS.
MAKE GOOD CHOICES.
~
(this part just made me tear up a little, now I get to say it to him AND Alex as they go off to school)
Labels:
Aiden,
Fun,
Joy,
Kids,
Life Tests,
little steps lead to big accomplishments
Wednesday, August 18, 2010
Ramblings of a crazy woman
sunset looking toward the Oquirrhs 2008
For the past couple of mornings I have been alone on my morning workouts. Usually, I wait for my workout buddy, but she hasn't been able to make it the past two mornings. While I wait I usually get a few minutes to sit on our little porch, alone, and ponder in the sometime, cool morning air.
I see the stars and sometimes the moon. I listen to the morning chatter of the birds and I just know they are chatting about me and possible saying.. "It's about time you got up and out here, sleepy head." The streetlight in front of my house shines bright, casting shadows one can easily hide in. I watch the early morning rituals of neighbors leaving, turning on their lights, setting up hoses for lawn watering, no one notices me, I am still, masked in the glittery blanket of the stars.
As I watch the lives that pass by me, I pray for their safe return home to their families. I talk with God hoping he hears me. I pray that the peace I feel at that very moment abides with me through out the day. I pray that I have the patience needed for a mother to a child with more energy than should be allowed. I pray for the well-being of my husband, who works so hard and has very little time. I pray that the seizures stay away for yet another day. I pray that I will always be grateful for what I have and if I can, share it.
As I am continuing to "grow up" I am learning that little things do add up, but for the most part, little things are just that, "little things". Everything is learned a little bit at a time. Yes, you have your anomalies, but for the rest of us, a little bit at a time. I think that is how is suppose to be.
I am learning that I need yoga. I haven't gone to a class since my embarrassingly loud release of not only stress but another pressure {he he} that ruined the peaceful moment for me and my fellow yogies. I couldn't regain my peaceful state from that point on. I have to try it again when I am not so filled with {hot air}.
I am learning that education is sooooooo important and more importantly I am learning that I can do it. I have always been scared of being dumb and I can now say for sure that I have some out landish thoughts, but dumb I am not.
I believe kids make you crazy to some degree. The younger they are the crazier you seem. As they get older AND hopefully milder, you might regain some sanity, but that is no guarantee. I think you just get a different kind of nuts.
These are just my ramblings.....feel free to ramble along.
Friday, August 13, 2010
Declutter+Reduce= Life a litte more under control.
A few days ago, I watched Oprah, which I rarely do, but it was a down day and I didn't want to get off the couch. On that day she was doing a show on hoarders. Wow, there was so much info. on that. But let me preface this before I get to into this. I AM NOT A HOARDER.
Okay, with that out of the way....I watched the show with eyes shocked at how something like that could happen and why. But, just like the expert Peter Walsh concluded, those who do this are suffering from something much more complicated than just keeping stuff. I do understand how this can happen....first it starts with getting a little of this and not keep track of the fact that you have already bought something just like or the actual same thing just a little bit ago. So it starts little and with little awareness, next thing you know you have a house full of "stuff."
I have on many occasions labeled my poor husband as a closet hoarder. He keeps a lot of "stuff." I actually asked him one time if they thought he was a hoarder to any degree. Of course, he vehemently told me no. I think he took offense. After a while though, he told me he thought about my question and gave me this answer, which to this day aches my heart, but makes me love him more...this is not verbatim:
" I keep things because I have had so many things and people 'taken' from me. I like to have my 'stuff' and 'family' close. I love them...I just want them with me."
I have seen him live his life with that statement in his every action. He loves to be with his family. He loves to help out his siblings, if he can. He loves being with his Dad and to help him and to learn from him...It is his way of "keeping them close." Some may not understand that, but after all of these years I get it.
I, on the other had, am a chucker. I don't hold to much. I think that is because I have never had much, and I have learned, "You do what you gotta do, when gotta do it and You have what you have so work with it." So I don't like to really keep stuff around. I tried the collecting thing, then I realized I was collecting stuff I "don't need." So I quit, and I still have that "stuff."
Okay, with that out of the way....I watched the show with eyes shocked at how something like that could happen and why. But, just like the expert Peter Walsh concluded, those who do this are suffering from something much more complicated than just keeping stuff. I do understand how this can happen....first it starts with getting a little of this and not keep track of the fact that you have already bought something just like or the actual same thing just a little bit ago. So it starts little and with little awareness, next thing you know you have a house full of "stuff."
I have on many occasions labeled my poor husband as a closet hoarder. He keeps a lot of "stuff." I actually asked him one time if they thought he was a hoarder to any degree. Of course, he vehemently told me no. I think he took offense. After a while though, he told me he thought about my question and gave me this answer, which to this day aches my heart, but makes me love him more...this is not verbatim:
" I keep things because I have had so many things and people 'taken' from me. I like to have my 'stuff' and 'family' close. I love them...I just want them with me."
I have seen him live his life with that statement in his every action. He loves to be with his family. He loves to help out his siblings, if he can. He loves being with his Dad and to help him and to learn from him...It is his way of "keeping them close." Some may not understand that, but after all of these years I get it.
I, on the other had, am a chucker. I don't hold to much. I think that is because I have never had much, and I have learned, "You do what you gotta do, when gotta do it and You have what you have so work with it." So I don't like to really keep stuff around. I tried the collecting thing, then I realized I was collecting stuff I "don't need." So I quit, and I still have that "stuff."
Now, I am trying to get rid of that "stuff" and I am hoping you/your friends can help me.
At the top & to the left of this post is a link to items I am "simplifying"with in hopes that it will benefit the life of someone else.
To see what's offered CLICK HERE & check out this link or click on the link in the sidebar "Simplifying DNA & A.
Sunday, August 8, 2010
I ♥ adoption
Anyone who knows me knows I can talk big junk about Aiden, but when you see passed all of his antics you know I adore that little spirit and
I ♥ adoption.
I can not imagine our home without....
~ the little thundering footsteps of Aiden sneaking out of bed to sleep on the couch.~
~the periodic screams of sheer joy~
~the murder by kissing~
~the laughter that just gets you laughing~
and so much more.
I am so grateful to the wonderful lady whom God sent to us, to bless us in this way takes courage and divine intervention. I am grateful that we were prepared (as much as you can be prepared) to bring him home.
I love adoption.
Where would my family be without it?
~the laughter that just gets you laughing~
and so much more.
I am so grateful to the wonderful lady whom God sent to us, to bless us in this way takes courage and divine intervention. I am grateful that we were prepared (as much as you can be prepared) to bring him home.
I love adoption.
Where would my family be without it?
Monday, August 2, 2010
Pushing, Digging and Clawing if I have to...
One foot then another. That is how you do it.
Today was the first day of what I had/have in my mind as the most challenging of the training. W3D1 of the C25K. It is hard but it is doable. Today got up 4:52 searched for the right bra....you must have the right bra or you will want to die. I only know because of experience, BELIEVE ME!! Got the girls all situated, made sure my mp3 was juiced and had the training playlist on it and off I went. I was so apprehensive.
I have never looked at a treadmill machine with so much dislike like this morning. I was so slow to even get on it and getting it programmed for what I was about to allow it to do to my body. But then the playlist started and off I went.
I had already looked at what I was going to be doing and it looked hard. The first minute and a half of running was fine, I had accomplished that last week and really liked it. Then came the first 3 minute run. It too was fun for the first 90 seconds. The second half was a challenge, but I made it through, thanks to Avril Lavigne. She kept me at a good cadence. The second 3 minutes.....1st minute great, couldn't make it through the second, so I took a breather and then ran the last minute.
Now this may look like a failure to some, but to me I won.
I WON!!!
I completed the training and I am going back to get that 1 minute. I will do it.
You never know what you can do until you do it. I never thought I could get this big body to push past the hurt it feels. The tiredness that has trapped me here. But I am digging and pushing and making it. I am not a runner, but I am also not a quitter.
Keep giving your support. Leave me comments of encouragement. I appreciate them.
OH YEAH...I found a great site with a awesome (in my opinion) playlist that tells you when to start and stop with music I am familiar with....I not so much a techno girl, I like real music.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

